skip to Main Content

Ages of Man


Various interpretations of the Ages of Man, or Stairway of Life, can be found throughout history. In Medieval symbolism these were connected to the four seasons of the year – child, youth, man and old man.

In a Flemish version 0 is the beginning, 10 are the years of childhood, 20 you start saving up, 30 you ought to be married, 40 you’re too old for it now, 50 you start to decline, 60 infirmities set in, 70 you can still live a bit, 80 is allowed us, 90 is given to us and 100 you rest in the grave. All very cheerful and uplifting stuff indeed!

  • Area in stitches: 289 x 163
Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Back To Top